International Graduate Program in Chemistry and Biotechnology

2 years English open

Entry requirements

Eligibility

How the eligibility articles combine
"The applicant must satisfy all the eligibility requirements for the Master's Special English Program which are mentioned below in articles (1) and (2). At the same time, applicants must also fulfill
Nationality and residence (article 1)
"A person who neither has Japanese nationality nor resides in Japan during the period of time from the online application's start date until its deadline." Multiple-nationality holders including Japan
Foreign citizenship and an overseas undergraduate degree
"The applicants must have foreign citizenship and an undergraduate certificate (or expect to receive it by March 31st, 2027) from an overseas university." See dataNotes — this date differs from the PD
Applicants from Japanese universities are excluded
"Those who have graduated or who are expecting to graduate from undergraduate universities in Japan (including The University of Tokyo), or who are enrolled in universities in Japan (including the non
Ability to study in English (article 2)
"A person with the linguistic skill level required to take classes and receive research guidance in English."
No concurrent enrolment
"Applicants cannot be enrolled in other universities or other schools at the University of Tokyo at the same time as the Graduate School of Engineering." The IGPCB application form adds a signed confi
One course only across both 2027 entries
"Applicants can apply to only one course for April or October 2027 in the International Programs at the Graduate School of Engineering, The University of Tokyo."
Security export control screening
"international applicants who fall under any of the conditions set out in said regulations may not receive permission to enroll at the university or may have their research activities restricted." The
Visa
"Applicants must have a visa that will allow admission to a Japanese graduate school, as stipulated in the 'Immigration Control and Refugee Recognition Act (Law No. 319, 1951)' before coming to Japan.
Applicants who remain employed
"Those who wish to enter the university while still being employed are required to submit upon entry to the university, a Letter of Approval (in any format) from their employer (as long as the one who
Professional work experience
No work-experience requirement is published for this programme.
Age limit
No upper age limit is published for admission. A lower age condition applies only under eligibility article (5) (22 years or older). Age limits attached to external scholarship schemes are set by thos

Accepted tests and qualifications

Test / QualificationRequirementNotes
GRE GRE is not listed among the IGPCB Documents for Submission and no GRE requirement or recommendation is published for this programme. The General Application Guidelines mention GRE only as an example o · Guidance
Written entrance examination No written entrance examination is scheduled for IGPCB: "Selection will be based on interview and the contents of the application documents." This distinguishes IGPCB from the department's Special Adm · Guidance
Japanese-language test No Japanese-language test is required. "No knowledge of Japanese Language is required." · Guidance
16 years of school education outside Japan (eligibility 3) "A person who has completed, or is expected to complete by the day before the admission date in April or October 2027, 16 years of school education in a country other than Japan."
Bachelor's-equivalent degree from a recognised foreign institution (eligibility 4) "A person upon whom a degree equivalent to that of a bachelor's degree has been conferred, or is expected to be conferred by the day before the admission date in April or October 2027, from a foreign
Individual screening of entrance qualifications (eligibility 5) "A person who is 22 or more years old on the day before the admission date in April or October 2027, whom this graduate school has recognized, through individual screening of entrance qualifications,
Date of degree conferral The PDF guideline uses "by the day before the admission date in April or October 2027" throughout, noting that "Although the admission date is scheduled to be on April 1st, 2027 or October 1st (tentat
Required undergraduate subject background No specific undergraduate major is required by the guideline. The department states that its postgraduate curriculum is designed to enhance each individual's research skills "regardless of their under · Guidance

English proficiency

TOEFL or IELTS score is a required document "Copy of the test score of TOEFL or IELTS (Score validity: 2 years)" is listed among the Documents for Submission. Unlike the Graduate School of Engineering's T-cens programmes, no Certificate of Engl
Score validity "Score validity: 2 years."
Minimum TOEFL/IELTS score No minimum TOEFL or IELTS score is published by the programme, the department or the Graduate School of Engineering for this route. The score is used comparatively in the screening rather than against
Which TOEFL formats are accepted The guideline says "TOEFL or IELTS" without specifying TOEFL iBT / ITP / Home Edition, or which IELTS module, and does not state whether official scores must be sent directly from the test provider —
How English evidence is submitted A copy of the score is sent as a PDF to the potential supervisor by email at that supervisor's request, and then included in the express-mail package sent to the departmental office after the intervie
Exemption from TOEFL/IELTS No exemption is published — not for native English speakers, not for holders of English-medium degrees, and no Certificate of English as Medium of Instruction alternative. TOEFL or IELTS appears in th

Required documents

  • Interview Required

    Required. "Selection will be based on interview and the contents of the application documents." The interview precedes the posting of the original documents: applicants "Send the documents to the offi

  • Interview date and format Required

    Not published. The interview falls somewhere inside the published selection period for each schedule (Schedule 1: October to the beginning of December 2026; Schedule 2: December 2026 to the beginning

  • Portfolio Required

    No portfolio is required. Portfolios are mentioned only in the anti-plagiarism clause of the Notes for Applicants.

  • Written statements Required

    No personal statement, study plan or essay is required. The CV and the optional summary of thesis research are the only free-text submissions.

  • Accommodations for applicants with disabilities Required

    "Persons with disabilities may require special consideration attending courses. Such persons are requested to contact the Department before the admission procedures." The General Application Guideline

Other

Application form (ChemBio Int. Prog.)
"(Filled by Applicant)". Downloaded from the department website as a .docx. It collects personal data, current/most recent university and (expected) graduation date, the type of programme ("Integrated
Notes for Applicants to the International Graduate Program in Chemistry and Biotechnology
"(Signed by Applicant)". A 14-point declaration: "I, as an applicant in an International Program at the Graduate School Engineering, fully understand and agree to the terms and conditions indicated be
Summary of thesis research (if possible)
Explicitly conditional — "(if possible)". No format or length is prescribed.
Academic Transcript (Bachelor's degree)
"Bachelor's degree for Master's Course (Integrated MS/PhD Program) applicants; both Bachelor's degree and Master's degree for Doctoral Course applicants." Marked "<Original only>".
Certificate of Graduation or Certificate of Enrollment
"Certificate of Enrollment is only necessary to submit if you cannot submit the Certificate of Graduation at the time of application. The Certificate of Graduation must be submitted at the time of adm
Copy of the test score of TOEFL or IELTS
"(Score validity: 2 years)".
Photograph
Section 2 of the application form: "Paste your photo here." No size, recency or background specification is published for the IGPCB form (unlike the T-cens programmes, which specify a photograph taken
Examination Fee payment (10,000 yen)
"Payment must be made by credit card, or China Union Pay. Payment fees are the responsibility of the applicant to pay. For details on payment methods, refer to 'How to make Payment of Examination Fee
Additional documents requested by the potential supervisor
"There may be additional requirements from the potential supervisor." These are not enumerated in the guideline.
Letters of recommendation
The IGPCB document list does not require letters of recommendation. The General Application Guidelines list "Letter of Recommendation — Two online recommendations" for the International Admission Prog
AF0–AF6 formatted application forms
The AF0 Declaration, AF1 Application Form, AF2 Statement of Study Plans, AF3 Summary of Graduation Thesis, AF4 AFEB, AF5 CV and AF6 academic-history forms are T-cens forms and are not required for IGP
Translation of certificates issued in other languages
The IGPCB guideline does not state a translation requirement for certificates issued in languages other than Japanese or English. The General Application Guidelines require, for T-cens programmes, tha
Completeness rule
"Applications will not be accepted if the specified documents are not complete and in order by the submission date except in extreme, unavoidable circumstances (as determined by the Graduate School of
How documents are delivered
"3) Send a pdf copy of the documents to the potential supervisor by email at the request of the potential supervisor. 4) Send the documents to the office of the Department of Chemistry and Biotechnolo
Schedule 1 — April 2027 entry
Application period "From June 29th to September 30th in 2026"; deadline "September 30th, 2026 for April 2027 entry". Selection "from October to the beginning of December 2026"; result announcement "pl
Schedule 2 — October 2027 entry (first round)
Application period "From August 31st to November 20th in 2026"; deadline "November 20th, 2026 for October 2027 entry". Selection "from December 2026 to the beginning of February 2027"; result announce
Schedule 3 — October 2027 entry (second round)
Application period "From November 30th in 2026 to February 19th in 2027"; deadline "February 19th, 2027 for October 2027 entry". Selection "from March to the beginning of May 2027"; result announcemen
Difference in eligibility, documents or fees between the three schedules
The guideline publishes a single set of eligibility criteria, documents, fees and selection method for all three schedules; only the dates differ. Nothing indicates that a place is easier or harder to
Programme sources (17)